Available 24/7

Disorderly Conduct Charges

Disorderly Conduct Charges in Denver | CRS 18-9-106

Disorderly conduct charges in Denver can result from creating excessive noise, fighting in public, or showing a weapon. Sometimes defendants aren’t quite sure what they did that qualifies as disorderly conduct. Police are known to arrest several people when public fights occur or in certain protest situations as they’re not always sure who did what and when. Whether you’re being accused of disorderly conduct in municipal court or county court, contacting a skilled defense attorney early on can be especially beneficial. Below we discuss disorderly conduct in further detail and ways we can help you with your unique case.

Denver County Disorderly Conduct Law

Denver County’s disorderly conduct law prohibits behaviors that qualify as disrupting public peace. CRS 18-9-106 provides definitions for disorderly conduct throughout Colorado. You commit this offense in Denver, Cherry Creek, or Montbello if you:

  • intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly,
  • make offensive gestures, utterances, or displays in public,
  • create unreasonable noise in public or near private residences,
  • fight or brawl in public,
  • discharge a firearm in public,
  • display a deadly weapon or something meant to look like one

Yelling and cursing in a neighborhood or in the local park is a common behavior that can be considered disorderly conduct. Disorderly conduct can also accompany other charges like assault, criminal mischief, or a traffic offense.

What are the Consequences of Disorderly Conduct in Denver?

Each disorderly conduct case is different. As a result, the penalties differ as well. Disorderly conduct charges in county court range from a petty offense up to a class 1 misdemeanor. A conviction can result in up to 12 months in county jail and a maximum fine of $1,000.

Denver’s Top Criminal Defense Attorney

Just because you’ve been charged with disorderly conduct doesn’t mean you’re guilty. We have decades of combined experience successfully representing clients facing disorderly conduct charges throughout Colorado’s Front Range. Perhaps you were simply exercising free speech or your actions in a fight were those of self-defense. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation with one of our seasoned defense attorneys. We will carefully look through your case, as well as suggest next steps in your defense. We offer affordable fees and flexible payment plans so that skilled representation is a reality for those facing allegations.

Photo by Clem Onojeghuo

Subscribe to receive Colorado criminal law updates.

We will send you updates on Colorado criminal law after each legislative session. 

more articles

Motor Vehicle Theft

Motor Vehicle Theft Attorney in Boulder | Auto Theft Defense

Motor vehicle theft in Boulder, Broomfield, and Westminster can be charged for taking another’s vehicle or a company car without permission. While many assume this offense involves a smash and grab job or a violent commandeering of someone’s car, several other less obvious actions can result in charges. Furthermore, lengthier possession of the vehicle or

Read More »
Domestic Violence Charges

Domestic Violence Charges in Jefferson County

Domestic violence charges in Jefferson County, Colorado don’t just come about when partners or former lovers resort to physical violence against one another. Something as simple and common as a heated argument can be enough for police presence outside your home, condo, or apartment. If a neighbor or bystander in Lakewood or Golden feels uncomfortable

Read More »
Hit and Run Lawyer

Hit and Run Lawyer in Arapahoe County

Hit and run charges aren’t uncommon throughout Colorado and seem to spike in the warmer months. With more cyclists, joggers, and walkers out and about, drivers should use extra caution in order to avoid significant criminal charges. A van was recently located in Colorado that is believed to be involved in a hit and run

Read More »
Scroll to Top