Available 24/7

Felony Theft

Felony Theft Lawyer in Fort Collins | Larimer County Criminal Defense

Felony theft is a broad term that encompasses many potential charges in Colorado. There are two key components of the definition of theft; taking anything (property or otherwise) that belongs to someone else and intending to keep it permanently. Because felony theft is such a widely punishable crime, it is important to have someone on your side who is informed about specific charges and defenses. The best way for this is to hire a criminal defense lawyer. If you or someone you know is facing charges of larceny in Larimer or Weld County, seek advice from a knowledgeable criminal defense lawyer today.

Specifics about Felony Theft

Felony theft is defined as a person knowingly obtaining anything of value owned by someone else without authorization or by threat or deception. The criminal code that addresses theft is CRS 18-4-401. There is a difference between theft and felony theft, and that difference is noted in the value of what has been taken. 

This charge is pursued when law enforcement believe that you:

  • Took someone else’s property valued at least $2000 
  • without intent to return it

An example of felony theft in Fort Collins or Loveland would be taking items like jewelry or electronics from a store with no intention of paying for them. Another example of theft would be borrowing a car from a friend with the intent to keep the car instead of giving it back. 

Possible Sentence for Felony Theft

Within theft in the felony range, there are many possible sentences depending on the value of the item or items stolen. If you were charged with a class 4 felony, penalties can include:

  • up to 6 years in prison and
  • a max of $500,000 in fines

As the estimated value of stolen goods or property increases, so do the penalties.

Fort Collins Defense Attorney for Theft Charges

Grand larceny is a complicated and hard to understand crime. The span of penalties and charges require having someone on your side who understands the law and can get you an outcome that is in your favor. You could have had a misunderstanding of the ownership of the item, forgotten to return it after borrowing the item, or never intended to keep the item in the first place. There is also a possibility of you being overcharged due to a misevaluation of the property stolen. Whatever your situation may be, our skilled criminal defense lawyers are here to help. We will meticulously assess your unique case and recommend next steps for your defense. We are here to provide support and to achieve the best possible outcome for you!

Talk to us about felony theft allegations – not the police. 303-830-0880

Photo by Keagan Henman

Subscribe to receive Colorado criminal law updates.

We will send you updates on Colorado criminal law after each legislative session. 

more articles

Third-Degree Assault

A Guide to Third-Degree Assault in Jefferson County

When facing a charge of third-degree assault in Jefferson County, Colorado there are vital elements to understand. This charge often results when someone experiences bodily injury as a result of your actions, recklessness, or criminal negligence with a weapon. Sometimes, 3rd degree assault even stems from injuries that weren’t caused purposefully. Whether you lost your

Read More »
Why Is It Important to Remain Silent?

Why Is It Important to Remain Silent?

The Fifth Amendment guarantees you the right to remain silent. The right to remain silent applies at the time of arrest and throughout the criminal case. If you do not want to say anything to the police, you do not have to. Attorneys, legal professionals, and even law enforcement officials, encouraging defendants to remain silent.

Read More »
Lawyer for Child Porn Charges

Lawyer for Child Porn Charges in Adams County

Possession, distribution, and creation of child pornography is unlawful in Thornton, Commerce City, Brighton, and Northglenn. This felony sex offense comes with devastating punishments that can impact a defendant for years to come. Images, video, stills, and clips of anyone under 18 behaving sexually aren’t tolerated throughout Colorado and prosecutors are known to seek harsh

Read More »
Scroll to Top