Available 24/7

Motor Vehicle Theft

Motor Vehicle Theft Attorney in Boulder | Auto Theft Defense

Motor vehicle theft in Boulder, Broomfield, and Westminster can be charged for taking another’s vehicle or a company car without permission. While many assume this offense involves a smash and grab job or a violent commandeering of someone’s car, several other less obvious actions can result in charges. Furthermore, lengthier possession of the vehicle or attempts to disguise the car are punished more harshly. If you or someone you know is being accused of car theft in Colorado, the best approach is to seek help from an experienced criminal defense attorney.

Boulder County Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft Law

Boulder County’s aggravated motor vehicle theft law prohibits taking another’s car, truck, or van without consent. CRS 18-4-409 provides the specific elements of this offense throughout Boulder, Longmont, Westminster, and Broomfield. Law enforcement will pursue charges if they believe you:

  • knowingly obtained or exercised control,
  • over another’s motor vehicle,
    • without their authorization,
    • or by deception or threat

Even refusing to return a vehicle to its owner at the agreed upon time can lead to allegations of aggravated motor vehicle theft. Other auto theft scenarios include borrowing a friend / family member’s car without asking, stealing a vehicle after a crime to flee, and carjacking.

How Serious is Auto Theft in Boulder?

Many factors impact the sentencing possibilities in aggravated motor vehicle theft cases. When charged as second-degree aggravated motor vehicle theft, this crime ranges from a class 1 misdemeanor (only when the vehicle is under $1K in value) up to a class 5 felony. A conviction for felony auto theft can lead to:

  • a prison sentence of 1 – 3 years,
  • fines of $1K – $100K,
  • 1 – 2 years of parole,
  • 1 year driver’s license revocation

However, causing property damage or injury, committing another crime, trying to disguise or alter the vehicle, or keeping it for 24+ hours elevates the charge to first-degree aggravated motor vehicle theft. These acts can add several years to the prison sentence and increase the fine amounts significantly.

Boulder Auto Theft Defense Lawyer

Allegations of auto theft in Boulder, Westminster, or Broomfield require contacting a skilled criminal lawyer as soon as possible. Securing strategic representation early on has many benefits and often leads to a better outcome. Perhaps permission was given to drive the vehicle, you didn’t know you lacked authorization, or you’re being falsely accused. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. We will carefully analyze your unique situation, as well as suggest next steps in your defense. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make hiring a determined defense attorney possible, even in times of uncertainty.

Talk to us about car theft charges – not the police. 303-830-0880

Photo by Bartosz Kwitkowski

Subscribe to receive Colorado criminal law updates.

We will send you updates on Colorado criminal law after each legislative session. 

more articles

Reasons to Hire a DUI Attorney in Denver

Reasons to Hire a DUI Attorney in Denver

There is no excuse for driving under the influence. Especially since it is so easy to call for a cab, Uber or Lyft driver. Driving under the influence refers to the crime of driving a motor vehicle while you are impaired by alcohol or drugs. In Colorado, this is referred to as driving under the

Read More »
Why Hiring a Sex Crimes Defense Lawyer is important

Why Hiring a Sex Crimes Defense Lawyer is important

Why Hiring a Sex Crimes Defense Lawyer is important. Have you been accused of committing a sex crime? The first step you need to take is to contact an experienced sex crimes defense lawyer. Sex crime charges are not something you are going to want to mess around with. There is a tremendous stigma attached

Read More »
Denver Reckless Endangerment Attorney

Denver Reckless Endangerment Attorney | Risky Conduct

Behavior that creates a significant risk of serious bodily injury to another is unlawful in Denver. Going to work under the influence of alcohol, driving minors around while intoxicated, or being reckless with a firearm can result in criminal charges throughout Colorado. Everyday activities can turn reckless quickly, sometimes with no intent of harming anyone.

Read More »
Scroll to Top